About Face Time

Graceful negotiation for the signs of aging

DIY alert! Several everyday uses for Lavender Essential Oil

on July 15, 2014

lav fields

Many clients have expressed their eagerness to start their journey of replacing chemical laden items with more natural or organic products, but simply do not know where to start.

The best place to start is where you are – right at the beginning.  Make a list of things or symptoms that bother you. Start with your top 5. My first list looked something like this:

  • Nausea when eating solid foods
  • Pain between shoulder blades when eating solid foods
  • Chronic Fatigue aka Metabolic X Syndrome aka Adrenal fatigue
  • Vertigo
  • Alopecia (hair loss) – seemingly Endocrine symptom

lav

To be thorough, I also listed some other things that I wanted to improve: 

  • Skin – take redness out and refuse to allow any fine lined wrinkles to form!
  • Skin – (recent weight loss) led to a lot of loose skin. Tighten it.
  • Home – reduce the number of chemicals used for cleaning and laundry
  • Food – Directly address my malabsorption and inflammatory issues by juicing and supplementing as well as preventing inflammation in the first place.

Once I had this list, I simply enlisted the help of others to help me understand my bodies response to foods and chemicals ingested as well as how to give my body what it needed to heal itself, and to supplement the deficiencies.

One of the very first essential oils suggested to me was lavender. If you are easily overwhelmed with new things or are on a tight budget and can only use one essential oil for now – this is it!

doTERRA LAV

 

Lavender (lavandula angustifolia) is the most versatile of all essential oils. It is commonly known for its relaxing effects on the body. Therapeutic-grade lavender has been highly regarded for topical skin use. Have a cut, scrape, bruise or skin irritation? Apply lavender. Not only is the fragrance calming, relaxing and balancing – it can clear up things like eczema! Carrying a bottle of lavender around with you is like having your own personal first aid kit, lightly scented body spritzer (for those times you just have to run in to Kroger on your way home from the gym!). Lavender is an adaptogen, this means it can help your body adapt to stress or imbalances. 

I will have to admit, when it was first suggested – I turned my nose up. I have never been fond of “flowery” smells like Rose or Lilac. But, I was a mess. I was having skin reactions (twice my eyes swelled shut and I looked like the twin sister of the elephant man.) Something had to be done! For those of you with allergies – you’ll know the frustration of having multiple allergy tests often with with negative results, and you carry around epi-pens and benadryl like it’s your bff. From my biology studies I knew that all things have toxicity levels – even things found in nature or things that are good for you! Every plant, every medicine, even water -can be toxic if overused. I tend to not absorb things that are good for me – but you can bet I would react straight away to something that my body deemed toxic at that moment.  WIth thousands of dollars worth of traditional medical tests and no real answers, I started categorizing foods, chemicals and other things that come into contact with my skin into lists such as : DON’T EVER EAT THIS, okay to use some of the time and okay to eat or apply on rare occasion. I detoxed over a 7 day period and during that time made changes to my environment. During this process the light bulb went off. My toxic load was over the top. If I could balance my gut the same as I could the skin on my face, I thought I would be much less reactive. I don’t have many true “allergies” by clinical definition – but if you feed me pork products (did you know jello/gelatin has it?!) or prescribe any drug made with porcine, stand by and watch the show. My pancreas never fails to deliver quite a spectacle. 

In no way am I suggesting that you go off all medications and use essential oils in their place. That’s actually quite dangerous! What I do suggest is finding a good primary care Physician (or for females, your OB/GYN is perfect for discussing these issues) who will work with you to reach the goals you create together. For example: at my annual well-woman check, my labs were drawn and Dr. Brent Boles (click here to visit his website) called me to review the results. My T4 was slightly outside of the normal range and after discussing this he agreed to work with me and monitor my T4 closely so I would not have to go on medication. He did his part and I did mine. He let me know if the T4 continued to drop that medication would be in my future. I am almost one year out from that visit and all is well .T4 is now within the normal range (although still at the low end of normal) and I have not had to fill the prescription!

Now for the good stuff – awesome every-day uses for Lavender Essential Oil:

Pet odor – love your pooch, but don’t like the carpet smelling like the dog? Pour some baking soda in a shaker bottle and drop essential oil in (to your satisfaction of scent). I use a small glass spice shaker from the dollar store and add about 15 drops of Lavender Essential oil.

Pillow spritzer – want to sleep like a baby? Or allow your little cherubs to do the same? Purchase a glass spritzer bottle (3-4 ounce size) and mix 2 oz of distilled water with 15 drops of lavender essential oil. Spritz on pillow before bed.

Mattress freshener – Each time I change the sheets on my bed, I drop a few drops of lavender essential oil directly on the mattress. 

Spot treatment for blemishes – drop one drop of lavender oil on a q-tip, apply directly to the blemish and hold for 30 seconds or so.

Sunburn – I rarely have a sunburn, but my kids had one last year. I infuse 15 drops of lavender in 2 ounces of (liquid) coconut oil from Epicurean Olive Oils. Apply directly to sunburnt skin, reapply every couple of hours. (Clients who have eczema or psoriasis swear by this same DIY recipe!).

DIY Body Butter – say good-bye to expensive body butters with this DIY recipe. Use it after every shower! Visit Rachel Holder’s blogsite for my recipe and an incredible amount of other valuable information on clean eating and juicing! 

Chapped lips – Oh how I wish I knew this when I was a little girl in New England winters! I can remember chapped lips that extended around the lips in a far wider circle than anyone wanted to see. Apply a drop or two directly to the lips at bed time. By morning there will be no sign of those chapped lips. 

Fabric softener/scented laundry/DIY Dryer sheets– This is absolutely one of my favorite ways to use Lavender oil. I’m not going to sugar coat this. Static clean in the laundry is no joke! I had a coworker years ago whose mother’s bedding caught on fire from static electricity! Static electricity is what causes static cling in clothing (or anything laundered). When two different objects are rubbed together, one loses electrons and the other gains electrons. The one that loses electrons becomes negatively charged. The one that gains electrons becomes positively charged. Transferring these electrons is what causes static electricity. This was your science lesson for today! Especially during colder/drier months, static cling is everywhere! I know we’ve become accustomed to laser and the lovely relaxation of laser genesis – but static plus a laser beam – is just not good! I use extra precaution when it comes to laundering spa bedding. Here’s what I do with each and every load of laundry:

  • Attach safety pins to each corner of a washcloth. The metal in the safety pins act like little lightning rods for static electricity!  Drop 5-7 drops of Lavender Essential Oil on the washcloth about once every 5 loads of laundry. The result: Viola’ – DIY dryer sheets! No more chemicals in your clothes that are against your skin almost 24 hours a day. (To further reduce static, I also add one cup of vinegar to my rinse cycle of every load of laundry. If you have a HE High Efficiency washer, simply add it to the fabric softener dispenser. Your clothes will NOT smell like vinegar when they are dry). Not only is this much better for your skin (and that of small children), it’s far cheaper than chemical laden dryer sheets.

As you can see, Lavender is one of the most versatile essential oils and a great place to start for beginner’s. I chose dōTERRA for all of my essential oil needs. Why? Well, because I found that many stores that carried essential oils had some issues rotating their stock (aheam, dust on the tops of the bottles) or failed to store them properly (light and heat are enemies of essential oils). dōTERRA’s Certified Pure Therapeutic Grade* essential oils are 100% pure natural aromatic compounds carefully extracted from plants. They do not contain fillers or artificial ingredients that would dilute their active qualities. Proper extraction and quality control methods also ensure that dōTERRA’s Certified Pure Therapeutic Grade essential oils are free of any contaminants such as pesticides or other chemical residues. This is not federally mandated (yet) and I have a lot of respect for a company that isn’t regulated, yet sets the standards high. Certified Pure Therapeutic Grade® essential oils are subjected to further quality testing that ensures the correct composition of the active natural compounds found in each oil. 

Special alert: Want to order your essential oils directly from dōTERRA? You may do so by clicking here. Click on shop for products in the top right hand corner. For any order placed between 7/15/14 and 7/21/14, About Face will issue a gift certificate good for a brow wax for your own personal use or to give as a gift! (retail value $15).

OR 

If you would like us to order your oils for you – email thatwoodardgirl12@gmail.com with your order no later than 7/18/14 at noon. We’ll take 15% off your total purchase and cover the shipping. Mention this blog when you send the email to get the special. 

ALSO

If you are looking for a way to get your oils at wholesale pricing and earn additional free product each month, you can sign up for the personal use Loyalty Rewards Program (you do not have to sell the product). Read more about this program here. Contact via email for help getting that set up. All new enrollee’s in the Loyalty Rewards program no later than 7/18/14 will receive one free Aesthetic Service from About Face – facial, chemical peel or dermaplaning (and can earn up to 30% off your product from dōTERRA). 

 

We’d love to hear how YOU use Essential oils already, please leave us a comment! 

 

 

 

 


Leave a Reply

Crafts beauty and more !!!!

The Perfect lifestyle Blog for Girls

playwithlifeorg

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

One and the same

Build, create ,inspire

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Ohh, Honey

Beauty, Travel and Rosacea

my world, my perspectives

words are artificial. are feelings natural?

#funnyemails

A compilation of humorous and funny emails doing the rounds that have landed in my inbox and those that I have found to be particularly interesting. Disclaimer: Funny Emails is not responsible for the content of user comments. Opinions of our readers are not necessarily ours. Funny Emails is intended for an audience 13 years and up.

Searching for my truth...

A journey to full awareness.

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Cute Overload

Cute Overload :D

Nails To Go

Taking holistic approach to your skin, nails and your home

THE MOURNING AFTER NATASHA

I’m the mother of two gorgeous girls. When my elder daughter, Natasha, was 7, she was diagnosed with a brain tumor. She passed away nearly five years later.

that MADDENing teacher

old teachers CAN learn new things

adamsandcompany

Just another WordPress.com site

Premier Home Inspection, LLC

"Be Advised, Not Surprised!" 615-481-7293

Downtown Murfreesboro

living in the heart of Tennessee

FierceFoods

Fighting cancer, allergies, and other bad guys...or, just understanding what we eat.

prestonbeautyblog

Your straight-up beauty authority

